Career Advice and Job Search Tips | SimplyForums  

Go Back   Career Advice and Job Search Tips | SimplyForums > SimplyHired Job Search Community: Advice & Customer Service > Job Search Safety

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-15-2007, 03:52 PM
simplydamon's Avatar
simplydamon simplydamon is offline
Simply Hired employee
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California
Posts: 4,380
Post Another job search scam

Read this article on a recent job search scam. The key points highlighting that this was a scam:

"Applicants were supposed to send in a tax document and a $95 processing fee that ostensibly paid for a "credit check" and for training costs."

Again, a legitimate job offer is not going to ask you for money upfront. Why would a company need your tax returns?
__________________
No longer active as a SimplyHired employee. Please contact SimplyHired directly with any questions.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-18-2008, 03:20 AM
hutch1981 hutch1981 is offline
New Hire (dreams of climbing the corporate ladder)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
Smile Another Scam!!!!

Another scam I recently came across on another jobsite was one by Top Star Mailshare. They were asking for £30 for a registration fee so I was a bit unsure about applying.

I contacted TipTopJob to let them know about this and they told me not to proceed. They took the company off straight away and since I have found loads of people talking about the company and the jobs they offer on the internet.

Here are just some I found: http://www.homeworking.com/discus/messages/17/181.html and http://www.blagger.com/db4/company_i...Mailshare.html.

So if anyone sees this company advertising anywhere just DO NOT apply for the job as you will be wasting your money. I cant believe how many people get caught out on these sorts of job scams!!!!!!!

Last edited by hutch1981; 09-18-2008 at 03:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-15-2008, 08:29 AM
MarkWentz MarkWentz is offline
New Hire (dreams of climbing the corporate ladder)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 14
Default

Scams are all over the net these days...
The best thing to do is to be careful and plan each step that you'll take in looking for jobs...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-22-2008, 07:24 AM
Jobsseeker Jobsseeker is offline
Management Trainee (climbed the first rung)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 33
Default

you have got to be especially careful with these job sites especially when handing over your details
__________________
Over 50,000 uk jobs lost this month
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-29-2009, 05:52 AM
aldenc77 aldenc77 is offline
New Hire (dreams of climbing the corporate ladder)
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Thumbs up Re:Another job search scam

Hi All,
I found another one best job scam . http://cloudjobs.net/ . This is that site. Here i found lot of job openings.
I think it is very useful for job searchers.

Thanks

aldenc77
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-02-2009, 01:44 AM
Michael23 Michael23 is offline
New Hire (dreams of climbing the corporate ladder)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
Default Re:Another job search scam

Job seekers can be especially available to con artists and scams. And it sometimes seems like there's a new scam every day.yes Mr. aldenc77, i seed http://cloudjobs.net websites it is really good to job searcher,thanks aldenc
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.